

MUSLIM BAN: EXPANSION FACT SHEET

Presidential Proclamation Expands Muslim Ban to Six Additional Countries

Proclamation effective date: February 21, 2020

- 1. On January 31, 2020, President Trump signed a presidential proclamation which **expands the Muslim Ban** to include **six additional countries**: Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar (Burma), Nigeria,
 Sudan and Tanzania.
- 2. The Proclamation maintains the <u>original restrictions</u> for Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Yemen, North Korea and Venezuela under Presidential Proclamation 9645 from 2017.
- 3. The Proclamation states that the United States will suspend issuance of all **immigrant visas** for individuals from Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar (Burma), and Nigeria, and all **diversity visas** for individuals from Sudan and Tanzania.
- 4. The Proclamation **will not apply to non-immigrant visas**, which are typically issued to tourists, visitors and students. Instead, it targets individuals who use immigrant visas to keep their families together here in the United States.
- 5. The language of the Proclamation does not cover people who were issued a valid visa before February 21, 2020 (the effective date of the proclamation).

Which new countries are targeted?

Eritrea	The United States government will suspend the issuance of nearly all immigrant visas for nationals from Eritrea.
Kyrgyzstan	The United States government will suspend the issuance of nearly all immigrant visas for nationals from Kyrgyzstan.
Myanmar (Burma)	The United States government will suspend the issuance of nearly all immigrant visas for nationals from Myanmar (Burma).

Updated: January 31, 2020



Nigeria	The United States government will suspend the issuance of nearly all immigrant visas for nationals from Nigeria.
Sudan	The United States government will suspend the issuance of diversity visas for nationals from Sudan.
Tanzania	The United States government will suspend the issuance of diversity visas for nationals from Tanzania.

How does this affect me?

If you or a family member is seeking an **immigrant visa** to the United States as a national of **Eritrea**, **Kyrgyzstan**, **Myanmar (Burma)** or **Nigeria**, you <u>will be</u> affected and should contact an immigration attorney immediately to get specific legal advice.

If you or a family member hope to obtain an immigrant visa under the **diversity lottery program** to enter the United States as a national of **Sudan** or **Tanzania**, you <u>will be</u> affected and should contact an immigration attorney immediately to get specific legal advice.

Individuals from these countries will be banned from entering the United States unless an exemption applies or they qualify for a waiver (outlined in Presidential Proclamation 9645).

The proclamation does not apply to individuals who are U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents (green card holders).

The language of the proclamation does not cover individuals who were issued a valid visa before February 21, 2020 (the effective date of the proclamation).

What can I do now?



Take action to stop this.

Tell Congress to pass the NO BAN Act. It will not only repeal the current Muslim Ban, it will also prohibit discrimination on the basis of religion by any president.

Take action: <u>muslimadvocates.org/muslim-ban</u>



Get more information.

Follow us on social media: @MuslimAdvocates

Visit our Action Center: <u>muslimadvocates.org/muslim-ban</u>

