Community Resources on Trump’s ‘Muslim Ban’

President Trump has signed an Executive Order severely restricting access to the United States from seven Muslim-majority countries and suspending all entry for refugees. In summary, the Executive Order:

  • Suspends immigrant and nonimmigrant entry to the United States of individuals from the following countries: Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen, for at least 90 days.
  • Suspends the admission of refugees from any country for 120 days, and suspends the admission of refugees from Syria indefinitely.
  • Includes language denying entry into the United States for “those who engage in acts of bigotry and hatred (including “honor” killings, other forms of violence against women, or the persecution of those who practice other religions) or those who would oppress members of one race, one gender, or sexual orientation.”
  • Requires all individuals seeking nonimmigrant visas to attend an in-person interview with federal government officials, and establishes more procedures for questioning.

To educate affected communities with the facts and policy implications of the Executive Order, Muslim Advocates produced a Community Guidance, and also teamed up with the Center for Immigrants’ Rights Clinic at PennState Law to produce a Fact Sheet. Share these resources now:

Community Guidance: Restrictions on Muslim Entry to the U.S.
Fact Sheet: Executive Order Restricting Muslim Entry to the U.S.

As a nation founded by immigrants fleeing religious persecution, banning anyone based on their faith is wrong, pernicious, and contrary to our nation’s founding values. Muslim Advocates remains committed to working with our allies and to using every legal and advocacy tool to challenge discriminatory and undemocratic laws and actions. We will continue to release information and resources as more details about this policy become available.